What Work Is Eligible?

Any Arabic-language investigation that has been published or aired between Oct.1, 2021, and Aug. 31, 2022.

What Are The ARIJ Annual Awards?

ARIJ Annual Awards are an opportunity for some of the best investigations from the MENA region to be rewarded and put on display in front of the field’s leading members. In a field as complicated as investigative journalism, ARIJ’s annual awards program is a gesture of appreciation, encouragement and training tool, modelling thorough and ethical work.

Who Will Judge The Contest?

The jury, which consists of a Jury Head and four members coming from some of the best media organisations in the Arab world.

What Are The Contest Awards In 2022?

Best Arab Investigation – Gold Award
Best Arab Investigation – Silver Award
Best Arab Investigation – Bronze Award

Do You Accept Entries In Languages Other Than Arabic?

No. All entries must be submitted in Arabic

Is There A Limit To The Number Of Entries I Can Submit?

Yes. You may only submit one application for one investigation

What Is The Deadline For Entering The Contest?

August 31, 2022

How Much Does It Cost To Enter?

The awards competition is free to enter

Can You Send Me An Example Of A Contest Entry To Help Me Prepare My Entry?

You can browse previous winning pieces here

How Do I Participate?

Submit your entry by Aug. 31, 2022.

What Are The Judging Criteria?

Entries will be judged based on:

originality and relevance
clarity of hypothesis
research and sourcing
risk calculation
structure and storytelling
data presentation and visual treatment
law and ethics
use of language
accuracy, balance, clarity
personal and professional initiative taken

Who Is Eligible To Enter The Contest?

The awards competition is open to all Arab investigative journalists; whether based in the Arab World or living abroad.

Who Should I Contact If I Have Any Other Questions?

Email info@arij.net with any questions or queries.