About ARIJ Annual Awards

The year 2022 marks the ARIJ 13th annual awards, which honours Arab journalists who took on scathing criticism, faced reluctant sources, and risked retaliation, to bring to light corruption and injustice in their societies. The ARIJ Awards acknowledge the integrity and professionalism of these journalists; setting benchmarks for future generations to model. The awards are nonpartisan and independent of all factions, organisations, political parties, corporations, labour unions, religions or causes beyond investigative reporting itself.

In short, ARIJ honours unfettered truth-telling. Ten Finalists will reach the top and compete to be one of three winners to be announced on December 4, 2022, ARIJ annual forum closing ceremony, in front of the award-winning journalists and distinguished leaders in the field. The awards are open to all Arab journalists. The deadline to enter was August 31.

Submissions must be in Arabic and produced and/or written by an Arab Journalist. Entries are judged on their content, creativity, and impact. 

Here are the awards: 

Best Arab Investigation – Gold Award

Best Arab Investigation – Silver Award

Best Arab Investigation – Bronze Award

Awards Announcement Timeline


To be announced

Screening Committee


Munir Al-Khatib

Editor In-Chief

Munir Al-Khatib is a highly experienced journalist and media consultant with over 24 years of experience as an editorial leader..


Hoda Osman

Executive Editor

Hoda Osman has worked at the ABC News Investigative Unit, with CBS News Investigative Unit, as a correspondent for France24…


Bissane El-Cheikh

Executive Editor

Bissane El-Cheikh has worked with Al-Hayat newspaper where her main focus was field reporting and investigative journalism…